Blog Tour: Ragdoll by Daniel Cole

#BookReview #TrapezeBooks #Daniel_P_Cole #RagdollBook 

Ragdollbooktour.jpg

Hello and welcome to my stop on the 3 days, 40 victims Ragdoll blog tour. If you don’t already know (and if you don’t, WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN?) Ragdoll is Daniel Cole’s debut, the thriller which everyone is talking about!

The hardback copy comes out on Thurs 23rd Feb and is published by the lovely folk over at Trapeze (one of Orion’s newest imprints).

A bit about the book…

A body is discovered with the dismembered parts of six victims stitched together, nicknamed by the press as the ‘Ragdoll’. Assigned to the shocking case are Detective William ‘Wolf’ Fawkes, recently reinstated to the London Met, and his former partner Detective Emily Baxter.  

The ‘Ragdoll Killer’ taunts the police by releasing a list of names to the media, and the dates on which he intends to murder them. With six people to save, can Fawkes and Baxter catch a killer when the world is watching their every move?

What did I think?

As soon as I read Ragdoll’s blurb I knew that I had to get my hands on it. Everyone on Twitter was talking about it and I just had to read it as it sounded right up my street. Crime thrillers, detective stories, murder mysteries – whatever it is, you name it, without a doubt crime is my favourite genre. Generally speaking, the gorier the better. Therefore I was pretty pumped when I was lucky enough to win a proof copy of Ragdoll on Twitter, which I was absolutely thrilled about.

So, a bit about the book – Ragdoll walks alongside broken detective William “Wolf” Fawkes as he tries to solve the crime of the ‘Ragdoll Killer’, a gruesome and gory corpse that has been stitched together made up of six unsuspecting victims. Fawkes is full to the brim with attitude, despair and loneliness, with his ex-wife being the lead journalist reporting the case and with the police questioning his capability, he is desperate to come up trumps and solve the mystery. Although Wolf is angry and maniacal he is also such a likeable character – I was really rooting for him. I also loved the strong female characters Cole created, from Andrea, Wolf’s crazy, fame-hungry ex-wife, to his faithful sidekick, Baxter.

The story has everything you’d want from a thriller; a psychotic killer, action packed twists and turns, dark wit and humour, gory details and a fast paced, gripping plot. Honestly my heart was pumping ten to the dozen towards the end and I think I even held my breath in suspense as I was reading the last twist! I wanted to race through it but I also didn’t want it to end, the sure sign of a good thriller. Also, the ending was so unexpected and left me wanting more – please Daniel Cole, please write a sequel! We need another dose of Wolf in our lives.

I really don’t want to say too much as it’ll give the game away. You just have to read it for yourselves.

I’ve already decided that this is my number one thriller of the year – yes, I know we’ve still got 10 months left to go, but I’ll be amazed if another thriller comes out that grips me as much as this did. I genuinely can’t wait to see what Cole writes next. I’ve recommended this to countless friends already and will continue to do so until they succumb and finally read it!

Ragdoll is already out in eBook and audio book and comes out in hardback 23rd February 2017 – you can purchase it from the Book Depository here. As mentioned, I was lucky enough to get a proof copy of Ragdoll in advance, in exchange for a fair and honest review. All views are my own.

Without a doubt, I’m giving this 5/5.

What other bloggers have said about Ragdoll:

I highly recommend you go and read the other reviews from the blog tour, but here are some snippets from the other bloggers:

My Chestnut Reading Tree“I think this will be the Gone Girl or The Girl on the Train for 2017, you know, THAT book that everyone wants to emulate and aspire to.”

Northern Crime – “Stop doing whatever it is you are doing, grab a copy and be prepared to fall in love with Wolf! You won’t want it to end. Recommended!” 

Have Books, Will Read – “Ragdoll is full of action and cleverly planned murder scenes which seem impossible but are entirely possible – scary stuff!”

The Book Magnet“My mind was racing and my heart was pounding – sure signs of a superb debut.”

 

 

3 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Ragdoll by Daniel Cole”

  1. Amazing review – I’m going to order my copy of Ragdoll today. Wow you read a lot ! Wish i could read that quickly. Your reviews are inspiring me to read more – keep it up please !,

    Like

Leave a Reply

