Book Review: One Little Mistake by Emma Curtis

“You trusted your best friend…you shouldn’t have” – as soon as I saw this written on the front cover I knew I was going to love One Little Mistake.

This gripping, psychological novel follows Vicky and Amber’s ‘perfect’ friendship, until one day Vicky makes an irreparable mistake, which sends their lives tumbling apart. Both women start turning against each other, questioning their friendship – do they really know who their best friend is?

one little mistake

Exploring trust and honesty in female friendships, familial relationships and the responsibilities of motherhood, Emma Curtis weaves a thrilling narrative with Amber’s web of lies. The plot was action packed and full of emotion – it kept me intrigued from the first page and it was brilliantly executed with the two parallel storylines. The characters were rich and I loved Emma’s characterisation of Amber, she made my skin crawl with her toxicity and deceit.

From the outset I was absolutely hooked with this domestic thriller, so much so that I finished it off in two sittings and since finishing it I have thought about it often.

4.5/5

Give it a go if you enjoyed: The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins or Apple Tree Yard by Louise Doughty

Author: Emma Curtis
Published by: Black Swan
Paperback: 416 pages

Disclaimer: I was very kindly sent an advanced review copy of this book from Rosie at Transworld Books in exchange for a fair and honest review.

 

 

Leave a Reply

