Mid-Year Freak Out Tag

I’ve seen a few mid-year freak out posts, so I thought I’d jump on the bandwagon and get involved. Here goes..

1 – The best book you’ve read so far this year?

staywithme

It’s hard to pick! I did a wrap-up of my favourite reads of the year last month, but I think Stay With Me by Ayobami Adebayo has got to be up there as being the best of the bunch. I felt wholly invested in the story and was so sad when the book ended – Adébáyò manages to fit so much in, in less than 300 pages!

2- Your favourite sequel this year?

TheSearch

The Search by Howard Linksey is the third crime novel in a series following investigative journalists Helen Norton and Tom Carney. No Name Lane and Behind Dead Eyes precede it. My blog tour review is here.

3- A new release that you haven’t read yet but really want to?

TheDry.jpeg

The Dry by Jane Harper – I’ve heard nothing but great things and have been recommended this by a couple of people now! It was the Waterstones thriller of the month, the Simon Mayo Radio 2 book club choice and the Sunday Times crime thriller of the month, so I’m sure I’m in for a great read!

4- Most anticipated read for the second half of the year?

TinMan

Tin Man by Sarah Winman. There has been so much chatter about this on Twitter – I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy. It sounds beautiful, tender and raw. I’ll get my tissues at the ready!

5- Your biggest disappointment?

Andthehippos

And the hippos were boiled in their tanks by William Burroughs and Jack Kerouac. For me, this had so much promise, but in truth I found it clunky and static, with little to keep me interested. It took me months to read this, which is crazy as it is pretty short at a mere 214 pages. 

6- Biggest surprise of the year?

Witchfinders

The Witchfinder’s Sister by Beth Underdown. I won a copy of the book, but am not usually keen on books centred around witches, folklore, magic etc. so didn’t know what to expect. I was so, so glad I gave this one a chance as it is one of the best books I’ve read this year!

7- Favourite new to you or debut author?

NaomiAlderman

Naomi Alderman – as part of my Bailey’s Prize read-along challenge I read The Power. It absolutely blew my mind; her writing was fantastic and stylistically very different to what I normally read. I’ll definitely check-out Alderman’s other work.

8- New favourite character

I absolutely loved Lady Dona St. Columb in Du Maurier’s Frenchman’s Creek. She was fun, mischievous and full of wild abandon. I really, really enjoyed her sense of adventure and naughtiness.

9- A book that made you cry?

Gustav

The Gustav Sonata by Rose Tremain. She manages to pen humanity and pain on the pages so exquisitely – so much so that her writing flawed me, with the last paragraph making me cry happy tears. I loved this book!

Ethandernest

Also, I have to give a shout-out to Ethel and Ernest – the graphic novel by Raymond Briggs. Corr, that hit me hard.

10- A book that made you happy?

Wrongknickers

The Wrong Knickers by Bryony Gordon made me howl with laughter – I raced through it one afternoon, chuckling along to myself on the sofa.

11- Your favourite book to movie adaptation you’ve seen this year?

I think the only book to movie adaptation I’ve seen this year has been My Cousin Rachel, by Daphne Du Maurier. Although, shocker, I haven’t actually read the book. It was every bit as dark and suspenseful as I’d hoped it would be.

12- Favourite blog post that you’ve published this year?

I’m not sure if it’s my favourite, but I really enjoyed reading all the shortlisted books on the Bailey’s Prize and writing mini reviews – my posts can be found here.

13- The most beautiful book you’ve bought or received this year? 

Butchershook

The cover of Janet Ellis’ The Butcher’s Hook is stunning – it’s an aqua colour with an embossed gold title and hand-drawn illustrations.

14- What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

Where do I start? There are so many books on my to-read list. One thing I did promise myself was to read The Northern Lights trilogy, by Philip Pullman, as I never actually read them when I was younger and I’d love to be up-to-speed before The Book of Dust comes out.

I tag anyone who hasn’t yet done this post! I’d love to hear your favourite books of the year so far!

4 thoughts on “Mid-Year Freak Out Tag”

Leave a Reply

